C.I.S.U.M Backwards Spells “Tru Luv”

I knew it was love from the moment I first laid my eyes on her. That she was love. Tall and elegant. A dream, a phantom. As intangible as the smoke curling from the end of a stick of incense and just as fragrant. Could this really be?
I walked up to her, shuffling my feet, hands shoved into my pockets, chin on my chest and asked her almost swallowing my words if she would dance with me.
A glance is all she gave me. I could feel her gaze on the top of my head. I looked up, met her gaze…she would. But what about your feet? Her eyes seemed to say. Will you know what to do with them when the time comes?
I will try. Is what I told her. Not with my lips, not with words but with a look of my own. It must have been one of apprehension, of self-doubt and of pleading because then she smiled. Ever so sweetly. But not a trace of condensation or pity could be found in it. And then, extending a lithe and supple arm, She held out her hand.
“Take it.” She said. He voice as smooth as caramel and as ageless as time, “I will show you how.”
I was six years old. Young, impressionable. I couldn’t have refused her even if I had wanted to. And so I took her hand. Let her lead me across the floor. Everyone was watching. Every eye in the room. But I couldn’t have cared less. I only had eyes for her.
And we danced. Oh did we dance. It was a dance for the ages. She led and I followed. I would have followed her to the ends of the earth, if only she had led me there…
It saddened me when it had to end. It made my heart heavy. My feet like lead. I begged her for one more, clung to her waist, beat off my mother but it was useless. With a single word she dispatched me into the arms of my mother. Without raising a finger, without even raising her voice. And because it was her, because it came from her lips, there was no argument.
“Don’t worry.” She said with a reassuring squeeze of the hand.
“I will come back and we will be together. And when the time comes, no one will be able to take me away from you. Nor you I.”
“But I don’t even know your name.” I piped, my voice high with worry. I didn’t want to lose her. I knew love when I saw it and she was it.
She bent over, her closeness intoxicating me in a way that made me feel faint and whispered in my ear. Five letters, two syllables.
She kissed me on the lips. Her breath smelled like peppermint.
And then, just like a dream, like a phantom, as intangible as the smoke curling from the end of a stick of incense and just as fragrant, she disappeared.
I did not fret however. She would come back. She said she would. I believed her. Her word was bond. Her word was truth.
As the scent of her tickled my nose, the taste of her lingering on my lips, I said her name. Five letters, two syllables. One word that changed my life forever…

Music…her name was music.

1 Comment»

  Princess wrote @

Now this, was a particularly beautiful post.

*bows*


Leave a Reply

